Nissan Frontier Forums

Affiliate Site : Nissan Titan Forums
  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp  Photo GalleryPhoto Gallery
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

Sponsored Links

General
 Nissan Frontier Forums : General
Subject Topic: Veepeak for Fronty Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Rubble
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: Jul 31 2014
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 194

Member's Gallery:
View Gallery




Location:
United States
Posted: Aug 01 2020 at 1:30pm | IP Logged Quote Rubble

Pacer6 wrote:
So far I only have the answer to a
general question. I saw them talking about F-150. Then I
asked a bit more specific for the Fronty. Showed a yes,
but not which app.
I'll keep looking.
Jim



Jim,

We have 2 ATF Temperature Sensor's on our Gen II's. #1 in
the Service Manual is for the Sump and it is the one that
the Service Manual say's to use for checking the ATF Level
on the dip Stick. #2 is for the Torque Converter Atf
Temperature. On my scangauge the #2 Sensor read's hotter
usually than Sensor #1.

I am Really glad that I spent the money on the Scangauge
II, cause I and Many Many other's that know a lot more
about how to check the ATF Level have been Wrong in the
case with my Truck. I see now that it was just a guessing
game by everybody without a Live Temperature Gauge for the
ATF.

It take's me driveing 20 mile's for the temperature even
to get up to 149F Degrees in the Sump. And it has to be
in the Hot part of the Summer Too. If I go through a Rain
Shower the Temperature will fall a good bit below 149F in
the Sump.

I'm also guessing that my truck may run cooler in the ATF
because mine has the 2.937 Gear Ratio in the Rear End. In
other word's the Gen II V6 King Cab with 2 WD has the
Tallest Gearing in the Rear End,, which also give's us the
Best MPG cause the Engine is turning lower RPM's at any
given speed. When I'm doing 70 mph, my RPM's are a Tad
less than 2,000 RPM. So it seem's logical to me that is
why the ATF is Probly running at a lower Temperature for
the ATF.

I drive 19 mile's one way to the Grocery Store and here it
is August 1st and I still haven't made it back home with
the ATF Hot enough to check @ 149F Degree's. I have
checked it at 104F Degree's useing the Cold Range and the
ATF Level is between the Hash Mark's.

If your 16 $ Reader doesn't tell you which ATF Temperature
Sensor, it's displaying I'm not sure it will benefit you.
If it show's 2 different Temperature's then I think that
you could choose the Cooler Temperature Reading to go by.

It do get a bit complicated when trying to figure this
stuff out from the GetGo,, that's why I'm glad that I went
with the Scangauge II, which the Software Engineer
allready went through the Figureing Out Process, so I
wouldn't have to, and I'm Very Thankful for that.

Regards,


__________________
Barney
2013 SVV6 Frontier KC/AT/2WD;'93 I4 Hardbody KC/AT/2WD 20yrs, Sold.
Back to Top View Rubble's Profile Search for other posts by Rubble
 
Pacer6
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: Feb 29 2020
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 76

Member's Gallery:
View Gallery


Location:
U.S. - Florida
Posted: Aug 02 2020 at 10:40pm | IP Logged Quote Pacer6

I found the app that displays AT temp.  Now I have not tested it, but it seems to be alble to be customized to however I want it.  It is called Dash Command.  It is just $10.

My son had a Scangauge on his Z.  He liked it alot.

I don't know how this stuff compares to Scangauge, but I'm kind of a techy who like to play around with that stuff.

I will let you know.

Jim
Back to Top View Pacer6's Profile Search for other posts by Pacer6
 
Rubble
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: Jul 31 2014
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 194

Member's Gallery:
View Gallery


Location:
United States
Posted: Aug 03 2020 at 1:00am | IP Logged Quote Rubble

Pacer6 wrote:
I found the app that displays AT
temp. Now I have not tested it, but it seems to be alble
to be customized to however I want it. It is called Dash
Command. It is just $10.
My son had
a Scangauge on his Z. He liked it alot.

I don't know how this stuff compares to Scangauge,
but I'm kind of a techy who like to play around with that
stuff.
I will let you know.

Jim



Jim,

Maybe you'll be able to get the 2 ATF Sensor's to display.

Did Your Son have a Scangauge II ?

I like the Scangauge II cause it display's 4 gauge's in
real time at the same time; I have it setup to display
ATF #1, ATF #2, Voltage, & Coolant Temperature; All are
in Real Time and it take's up minimal space in the Top
Dash Tray. I keep it pluged into the obdII port all the
time. When I turn the egnition switch off, it goe's to
Auto Sleep Mode.

I like mine in the Top Dash Tray, cause I don't have to
turn my vision off of the Roadway much; Just a quick
glance and back on the Roadway. I've seen some that have
the Scangauge mounted in the below Dash, center console
forward Tray. IMO that is No Good for Safe Driveing. It
only take's a split second for a Terminal Event to happen.

Regards,

When I was Young, I would take up time trying to figure
this stuff out, with Gauge's Here, Button's There, but now
I have too many other thing's that I have to attend to ie
House, Tractor, Lawn Tractor, Brush Cutter, Weed Eater,
Chainsaw, so I can't get bogged down spending too much
time on any one project, or I won't have time to spend
doing the other thing's that are just as important or more
important.

I've got to quit forgetting to do the Termite Poison and
Weed poison around the house and Garage.

I just got a microwave for the garage, so I have something
to look forward to out there. When I get hungry now, I'll
be able to eat better out there. I spend a lot of time
out in the Garage, and I don't like to track into the
house after I get dirty with Grease and Oil out there.





__________________
Barney
2013 SVV6 Frontier KC/AT/2WD;'93 I4 Hardbody KC/AT/2WD 20yrs, Sold.
Back to Top View Rubble's Profile Search for other posts by Rubble
 
Pacer6
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: Feb 29 2020
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 76

Member's Gallery:
View Gallery


Location:
U.S. - Florida
Posted: Aug 06 2020 at 4:01pm | IP Logged Quote Pacer6

I honestly don't remember which gauge he had.  I know he had a turbo time connected also.  I was to let the turbo cool down by idling for about 10 minutes.

I have found that the apps are not customizable to the Frontier.  At least not yet.  More looking of course. 

Getting ready to go off the grid until Nov.  Will occasional wifi, but not consistantly and it is limited.

Will KIT when I can.

Jim
Back to Top View Pacer6's Profile Search for other posts by Pacer6
 
Rubble
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: Jul 31 2014
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 194

Member's Gallery:
View Gallery


Location:
United States
Posted: Aug 07 2020 at 12:14pm | IP Logged Quote Rubble

Pacer6 wrote:
I honestly don't remember which gauge
he had. I know he had a turbo time connected also. I was
to let the turbo cool down by idling for about 10 minutes.
I have found that the apps are not
customizable to the Frontier. At least not yet. More
looking of course.
Getting ready to
go off the grid until Nov. Will occasional wifi, but not
consistantly and it is limited.
Will
KIT when I can.
Jim



Jim,

It cost's to get the Nissan Code's, so I would have been
surprised if it was possible with a 16 $ OBD II Display.
That's why the Scangauge II cost's more IMO.

Sound's like you are going where Your Place is Too far
away from Rural Coop Electricity to afford getting
connected. Same thing happen's with Land Locked parcel's
that are close enough, but unable to get a 50' Right of
Way from the Surrounding Property Owner's. I've read
about what is involved and it cost's big time for the
Batterie's and the Generator to charge the Batry's.

I talked with a Fellow that purchased 100 acre's without
doing His Homework to find that he also couldn't get a
Right of Way for his Electrical line's. Water can be got
with Your Own Well, and Sewage with Your Own Septic
System, but Electricity is the Thing that is a Must Have
for Communication ie Phone, Internet, TV, etc. Stand
alone Generator's can do it,, but the cost without a
Battery Storage System cost's too much, and the Battery
Storage System is Very Expensive as well.

Enjoy the Solitude,
Regards,





__________________
Barney
2013 SVV6 Frontier KC/AT/2WD;'93 I4 Hardbody KC/AT/2WD 20yrs, Sold.
Back to Top View Rubble's Profile Search for other posts by Rubble
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

<< Prev Page of 3
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Sponsors

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.92
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide
A Vebro Solutions Venture
Hosted by Vebro Hosts
Need a vacation? Find our more about a Hawaii Vacation or get Hawaii insider tips!